Mistake

I fed Mr. Bug a slice of jalapeno pepper. Yeah, bad idea.

Look, I knew he wouldn’t like it, but the reaction I got was so, so, so much worse than I imagined it would be.

It started much like you would expect. After following me around the kitchen insisting “Want bite! Want bite!” I finally caved and gave him a small piece, knowing he would hate it. He took a bite and started going, “ahhh, ahhh, yuck.” Then he threw it away and wandered into the living room. I thought we were done.

Then he comes back into the kitchen with whining a bit, and he’s scraping at his tongue with his hand. So I give him a glass of water. This does nothing to help, and now he’s full on crying, while practically gagging himself with his efforts to scrape the spicy taste off his tongue.

I now try giving him milk, again, to no avail. He’s getting hysterical; crying, coughing, gagging. I feel like the worst mother in the world.

I try to get him to drink more milk, while rocking him back and forth trying to calm him down. I wash his hands in case some of the oils are still on his hands, and making things worse. Between sobs he asks me for “nummies.” It’s been a while since he nursed, but I nurse him anyway, and it seems to calm him.

But when we’re done nursing, he starts crying again. I look online, and see a suggestion that lemon juice will cut the oils, and grab some out of the refrigerator. I squirt a ton of it into his mouth, and five minutes later, he’s fine, though still sniffling a bit. Thank you google.

Forty-five minutes after first giving him the pepper, and he’s finally calmed down. I sing him a few songs and tuck him into bed. I think he must have had a cut on his tongue, or a tooth coming in; some sort of open wound to cause that severe a reaction. It’s not like I gave him chilian death peppers, it’s just a jalapeno.

Well, live and learn.

1 Comment

June 16, 2012 · 7:16 pm

One response to “Mistake

  1. Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

