New Years Resolution

My new years resolution is to do a better job at cultivating/maintaining friendships.  I love and hate Facebook.  It gives me a bit of a window into my friends lives, but encourages me to be passive about those friendships.  You feel like you’re keeping up with what is going on in their life, but really, you only have a surface view, and your friendship becomes very superficial.  And yes, I know none of this is new news.  Ironically, my first step towards fixing this issue was to send messages to friends I hadn’t talked to in some time.  I don’t know if this was the best way to go about renewing friendships or not, but it seemed like the easiest way to get a hold of everyone.  Most of them live too far away to hang out with regularly anymore, so really, the options are Facebook message, or phone call.  I’d love to get to the point where I’m talking with my friends on the phone regularly, but minutes cost money and Facebook is free.  So I’ll do the best I can with what I’ve got.  Hopefully much of this will be resolved if I get to move back to my hometown later this year.  I much prefer personal interaction to phone or message communication.  I felt really awkward sending messages to some of my old friends.  I have no idea how this gesture will be received.  But I don’t really know how to make it less awkward, so I hope we can all just push past it and reconnect.  I’m just as shy and awkward in person, so at least the messages remain true to my character.  And would it really be any less weird if I called you on the phone or showed up at your door instead of sending a message?  If anything, I think it would be even more awkward.  Here’s hoping I can actually follow through on this resolution.  I think it is a worthy one.

 

P.S.  If you happen to be reading this, know me, and I haven’t gotten a hold of you yet, it’s nothing personal.  I’m just absent minded.  Feel free to message me instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

